Closed Thread

Thread: Ki Masters

Newbie Cartoon King is off to a good start Cartoon King's Avatar
    Thanks

Ki Masters

OK folks.
    This is my first attempt at RPGing. Read on for story, rules and profile setup.
    PM me if you like join.

KI MASTERS

Story line: Set in an age not very much different to ours, is a world where Martial Arts play a vital role in lives of many. Of all the techniques performed, Ki or life energy manipulation became the most exploited. Wide was this ability, that every martial artist can wield it by hard training, both for healing and for attack.
    Ki must be not used constantly in a single fight, as being the lifeforce of a person could have fatal effect on that person.

In this world are seven major cities, each bearing a name after an animal of shaolin roots:
    Hyo City (Leopard)
    Tsuru City (Crane)
    Tora City (Tiger)
    Saru City (Monkey)
    Hebi City (Snake)
    Kamakiri City (Mantis)
    Ryu City (Dragon)
    Each city has a Dojo, where one of seven sensei teach. Their students are taught not only taught in anything goes style self-defense, but also the training of manipulating their ki, based on their will and thought. Such moves include channeling ki into harmless items like cloth and wood to make them razor sharp or solid enough to break bones, create illuminations like attacking beasts or even self-healing.
    Another aspect of all the dojos is that each one, not only has their fair number of students but also ancient sacred scrolls placed in their care.

The dojos are at constant war with each other due to a long history of rivalry between them. Because of this and the fact that the scrolls should not fall in the hands of a seemingly immortal renegade sensei, Annual Trials are held one generation after another, pitting the schools against each other.