Closed Thread

Thread: Deleting threads

Newbie -Pocky- may be famous one day -Pocky- may be famous one day -Pocky-'s Avatar
    Thanks

Deleting threads

I'm a newb so I'm not 100% sure how the whole system works, but why is it that Moderators can only 'close' threads. I've been on several forums where MODS had the ability to delete threads as well as close.
    Also members also have the ability to delete their own threads they created.

There are just so many threads I feel are a waste of space.

Example :
    Say someone accidently made duplicate copies of a thread. Instead of closing the majority of them, wouldn't it save more space to just delete instead.

AO shady bystander Comboling Champion bassdudez may be famous one day bassdudez may be famous one day bassdudez's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: Deleting threads

Quote Originally Posted by -Pocky-
    I'm a newb so I'm not 100% sure how the whole system works, but why is it that Moderators can only 'close' threads. I've been on several forums where MODS had the ability to delete threads as well as close.
    Also members also have the ability to delete their own threads they created.

There are just so many threads I feel are a waste of space.

Example :
    Say someone accidently made duplicate copies of a thread. Instead of closing the majority of them, wouldn't it save more space to just delete instead.
    One reason would probably be so that the particular member who created the "bad" thread would know the reason of why it was closed (they usually post comments on why it was closed) And that particular thread can also serve as a notice for other members on which types of threads are rulebreaking.

And another reason would maybe be to prevent mods having too much control on the forums (not that the mods here are that type ^_^)
    Kastelic's creation

Newbie -Pocky- may be famous one day -Pocky- may be famous one day -Pocky-'s Avatar
    Thanks