Thread: DVD Ripping Help...

Otaku Warthog Launch Champion Rook may be famous one day Rook may be famous one day Rook's Avatar
    Thanks

Talking DVD Ripping Help...

How do i dvd rip and where can i find the program for it?

Oh, and id like to add that im a beginner at this sort of thing, so any suggestions would be great...

MOD Edit: DON'T DOUBLE POST!!! Use the Edit Feature...

Newbie JEEB may be famous one day JEEB may be famous one day JEEB's Avatar
    Thanks
    Now, first of all, remember that copying copyrighted material for anything else than private backuping is illegal (some countries have tighter laws, some have more flexible ones - check your country's legislation - usually one backup is OK). This is just a text to get you used to video encoding.

First of all, let's get to know the best DVD Backup site - Doom9 [clicky]. On this site resides the best collection of legal tools to rip the mpeg-2 stream from the DVD and convert it into the the standard you want.

But, since you're a beginner, I'll give you some pointers (I've backupped some of my DVDs and helped my friends to do it, too, so I'm not a total ass in it) on how to do it. The first step, of course, is to download the latest Gordian Knot codec pack plus the latest "rippack". This is, of course, if you do not already have the codecs/software needed (which I think you don't have).