+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 17 to 24 of 25

Thread: Opinions and Validity.

  1. #17
    Femmebot Rehab Colt Crouse Champion, Bookworm Champion, Hangman Champion, Connect 2 Champion Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Friendly Fridley
    Posts
    1,477
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    If you are not seeking validity in the other persons mind. If you are not looking for some sort of level of respect, then how can your opinion be invalid based on how they feel or think about it?

    All I am saying is, other peoples opinions about MY opinion... are not what makes it valid (or invalid) to me. If I am discussing something with another person, and I don't agree... That CAN NOT make their opinion less valid. Only a negating fact can do that.
    ... Not Ever Again...

  2. #18
    Grouchy Old Anime Otaku LenMiyata has become well known LenMiyata has become well known LenMiyata has become well known LenMiyata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Silicon Valley, California
    Posts
    5,477
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 172 Times in 147 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    Grumble Grumble Grumble
    Quote Originally Posted by Peach_follows View Post
    All I am saying is, other peoples opinions about MY opinion... are not what makes it valid (or invalid) to me. If I am discussing something with another person, and I don't agree... That CAN NOT make their opinion less valid. Only a negating fact can do that.
    So I take it you have the opinion that if you think a opinion is valid, then its valid... Time to pull out the dictionary quotes...

    First Opinion...
    1 a: a view, judgment, or appraisal formed in the mind about a particular matter b: approval , esteem
    opinion - Definition from the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary

    And Validity...
    2 a: well-grounded or justifiable : being at once relevant and meaningful <a valid theory> b: logically correct <a valid argument> <valid inference>
    validity - Definition from the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary

    So by technical definitions, a opinion on a opinion doesn't make it necessarily valid. Only if the opinion is justifiable and/or logically correct, then its valid. If an opinion has no basis in logic, and is not justifiable, then by definition, it is invalid... So even if there is no negating fact, if you can show a flaw in the logic.. Logic can be an awfully hash philosophy at times. No matter how much you wish or hope, or believe something to be true, if the rules of logic say you're wrong, then you're wrong...
    FAVOURITE THREADS EXPLAIN why, or risk an infraction.
    Rantings of a Grouchy Old Anime Otaku

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to LenMiyata For This Useful Post:

    Scourge (Feb 13, 2009)

  4. #19
    Femmebot Rehab Colt Crouse Champion, Bookworm Champion, Hangman Champion, Connect 2 Champion Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Friendly Fridley
    Posts
    1,477
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    So I take it you have the opinion that if you think a opinion is valid, then its valid... Time to pull out the dictionary quotes...
    No... I said the contrary, that opinions can't validate opinions. Period.

    Thusly you cant seek or expect another person to validate your opinion based on what the FEEL or BELIEVE to be right. As your quote stated... logic and facts (aspects of that nature) are what determine validity.... Right?
    ... Not Ever Again...

  5. #20
    Banned aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Coalhurst Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,900
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 183 Times in 148 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    Quote Originally Posted by Peach_follows View Post
    No... I said the contrary, that opinions can't validate opinions. Period.

    Thusly you cant seek or expect another person to validate your opinion based on what the FEEL or BELIEVE to be right. As your quote stated... logic and facts (aspects of that nature) are what determine validity.... Right?
    If Opinions can't validate opinions... then how can you (or others) validate an Opinion at all?

    By simply saying that something is valid or invalid is voicing your opinion on the matter.

    I'm about to voice an opinion right now:

    Your logic, and thus your entire argument, is flawed.

    No matter how you swing it, if someone believes that an opinion is valid/invalid, and they will not change their mind regardless of the evidence given to the contrary, that opinion, at least to the person holding it, is valid/invalid.

    To coin a phrase: Beauty (In this case, an opinion's validity) is in the eye of the beholder.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to aceman67 For This Useful Post:

    Scourge (Feb 13, 2009)

  7. #21
    Femmebot Rehab Colt Crouse Champion, Bookworm Champion, Hangman Champion, Connect 2 Champion Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows has become well known Peach_follows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Friendly Fridley
    Posts
    1,477
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    if someone believes that an opinion is valid/invalid, and they will not change their mind regardless of the evidence given to the contrary, that opinion, at least to the person holding it, is valid/invalid.
    I guess, if you allow others to validate you or invalidate you based on opinion... Thats up to you. I don't.

    Being an "apathetic bastard" you should know by now that going on about your business without caring what another persons opinion is (weather or or not they believe what you say to be valid or not) is both quite possible, and easy.

    If I say, it would take some fact, or some pretty solid oppsing logic to invalidate my opinion... then thats where it rests. I would certianly hope that the opposing person would feel the same about their argument. Quite frankly, the only person you have to worry about ever... is you. You decide what is valid or invalid... always. Weather it is based on opinion or fact even. You can decide you live in a different dimension, where your name is frank. And you can feel validated in that belief... all you want. It could seem totaly logical to you. And the most any could do is give you drugs and talk you out of it. Which you'd have to allow. Even Len's deffinitions of Valid (since they really dont revolove around fact) would be based on opinion.

    Why should anyones opinion matter more to you than your own. Thats not even realisitic anyway. We live ourlives according to what WE CHOSE. If you chose to consider another persons opinion as valid. Thats on you. I often DO chose to consider other peoples opinions valid. But I dont have to. And weather or not an opinion it is invalid to me, wont make it invalid to them. Or vice versa. What I am suggesting is that, YOU DECIDE WHAT IS VALID TO YOU
    ... Not Ever Again...

  8. #22
    Poultry Projectile Cannon Scourge is making a name for themselves Scourge is making a name for themselves Scourge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Oceanside CA
    Posts
    1,297
    Thanks
    476
    Thanked 171 Times in 152 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    Well I am going to throw in an opinion that some people have which is an extreme case here between the two of you or any one else for that matter. Consider it as an experiment, one of which that will create a big hub bub, Mm K?

    Racism... There are people who believe that their "race" is better then others, all of which is based on opinion with really no fact to support these people’s opinions. There are many people who believe that these racist opinions, based on their opinion, to be invalid do to the fact that there is zero evidence (or at least pore evidence and questionable information) to support these racist opinions.
    Let’s take it a step further. Hitler believe that any one who was not Arian were inferior and was in his opinion as well as some others, believe they were justified by killing millions of people who, in their opinion, deserved to be exterminated.

    So, are the racist and the genocidal Hitler and those who support them valid in what they did? As all their actions and beliefs were based on opinion.

    By saying valid, you are admitting that their opinion were justified in their beliefs and actions despite the fact all evidence shows what they believed in and the actions they took was evil and wrong.

    By saying invalid, then you’re saying their opinions and their beliefs and actions they took because of it are clearly invalid even though this was all brought about through opinions which were based off of little, not to mention highly questionable, information and evidence and that their clearly evil actions are invalid and not justified.


    I cast the vote of raciests and Hitler to be invalid in their opinion.
    Last edited by Scourge; Feb 13, 2009 at 11:34 AM.
    "MY DEAR... I GIVE YOU THE CAPELLAN CONFEDERATION"
    AND THUS THE WAR WAS STARTED NOT BY GUN SHOT BUT BY WEDDING BELLS

  9. #23
    Devil's Advocate TaurusDemon23 may be famous one day TaurusDemon23 may be famous one day TaurusDemon23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Nowhere, Yet Somewhere....
    Posts
    1,531
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    As far as I'm concerned, shouldn't we just agree to disagree sometimes? I mean, no one has the exact same opinion on anything, because opinions are directly affected by personal experience and thought. Eventually, even if two people had the same opinion in the first place, their views will end up mutating so much that neither could even identify with each other.

    We'll use the Nazis for our example(these bastards sure are handy). Even though they were all down for the National Socialist cause and the whole 3rd Reich thing, down the line, though, anyone who was anyone developed their own opinions on how to go about it all.

    Why do you think there were so many attempts on Hitler's life by his senior officers? Some of them must have thought him mad like everyone else. Then again madness is all a matter of opinion, isn't it?

    One man's sane is another man's batshit crazy.

  10. #24
    Poultry Projectile Cannon Scourge is making a name for themselves Scourge is making a name for themselves Scourge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Oceanside CA
    Posts
    1,297
    Thanks
    476
    Thanked 171 Times in 152 Posts

    Re: Opinions and Validity.

    No, Hitler was nuts, and there were even medical records that he tried to dispose of that even said he was loony. So the opinion of him by people saying he was a f**king lunatic, such as my self, are valid and correct... He suffered from parcansense, paranoia, and a few other mental illnesses... The man was nuts.
    "MY DEAR... I GIVE YOU THE CAPELLAN CONFEDERATION"
    AND THUS THE WAR WAS STARTED NOT BY GUN SHOT BUT BY WEDDING BELLS

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. opinions on me
    By equinn in forum Poems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jan 31, 2008, 07:57 AM
  2. HELP!!! i need an some opinions
    By NarutoCheriki in forum Tech Center
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Dec 06, 2006, 04:48 AM
  3. Opinions please
    By Cudwieser in forum Anime
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jun 09, 2006, 01:36 AM
  4. Opinions
    By RazorKisses in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Dec 07, 2005, 09:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts