Closed Thread
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 25 to 32 of 56

Thread: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

  1. #25
    Legendary Otaku Snake Champion, Zelda Champion, Crazy Koala Champion, Minigolf Champion, Concentrate Champion, Guess 5 Champion, Batting Champ Champion, Beach Ball Control Champion, Bookworm Champion, Wacky Word Wiz Champion, Fight Fight 3 Champion, Spinner's Luck Champion, Traffic Jam Champion, Yeti Pengu Throw Champion Legend is making a name for themselves Legend is making a name for themselves Legend is making a name for themselves Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sharks Territory
    Posts
    4,762
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 67 Times in 61 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark. View Post
    Newsflash, Marcel C:

    Mods are D-bags by nature. They have to be. They were the same 5 years ago, and they're the same now. Different name, different person, different picture, same uppity post feel. If the Mods weren't D-bags, we'd have a hell of a lot more spam on this very nice forum than we do right now. Mods are the guardians of a little something called "standards." Figuring out their standards is simply a matter of trial and error. Sometimes you'll make a great thread, sometimes it'll suck. Sometimes you'll think its great, but it turns out it sucks. That is simply the nature of a well governed forum. So you're just going to have to realize that no given forum is a democracy; at least no forum with nice people who frequent them.
    In ways I really disagree with that "d-bags by nature" idea. To me that is old thinking or what I call pre-'02 way of doing things. The reason why the forum worked in the past was the fact that the old members respected them. We weren't afraid of them. If you feel like you need to add a wise crack + an insult before closing threads, then you have issues...big time. At the same time, there are a lot of idiots on the web that deserves it.

    Though I do agree that this forum is not democracy, but that doesn't justify everything. This not a country, where people have many reasons why they can't just pick up and leave. A website is different. There are so many out there, all it takes is 5 mins to choose a new user name and password to join another forum. I don't want to know how many potential contributors we have pushed away with the pre-'02 thinking. Have to let that type of thinking go and move on to a new way of doing it.

    I made fun of a few members along the way, so I'm not innocent of the crime at all. But I do feel that you don't have to be a dick or act like one to get the job done.

    The staff is great in terms of productivity, no doubt about that. One thing that irks me however, is the not realizing diversity. If I am wrong I apologize about that, but I did make that mistake myself when I was on the staff. I recall lashing out at this guy and questioned his maturity...turns out he was not even a teenager yet. In my mind I expected everyone to be around the same age group.

    'Cause you give me something / That makes me scared, alright / This could be nothing / But I'm willing to give it a try / Please give me something
    'Cause someday I might call you from my heart

  2. #26
    Banned aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Coalhurst Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,900
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 183 Times in 148 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    I have to admit, I can be a bit of a ass when it comes to dealing with instances when rules have been broken, but even then I always give justification as to why I'm taking that action, and when a rule violation is not very clear, I do make an attempt to explain what was done wrong.

    I guess it stems from the types of jobs i've done for a living: When I first started out as a member here, I was working fast food, when I became a mod, I was still working fast food, now I work at a call center where I deal with people who don't pay their cable bills on time (now if you think that dealing with problems here on the forum is bad, do my job for an hour and see how fast you crack under pressure when you have to tell an old lady who's only company/contact with the outside world is the TV and calling tech support that you can't reconnect her cable till she pays her bill).

    I don't give out respect very easily, I've been burned too many times for that, and most of the time people have to earn it. Generally, if your a good upstanding member who contributes in a positive intellectual manner and you own up to your mistakes, you'll have my restpect, and I'll even bend over backwards to help you out.

    Quote Originally Posted by Legend
    The staff is great in terms of productivity, no doubt about that. One thing that irks me however, is the not realizing diversity. If I am wrong I apologize about that, but I did make that mistake myself when I was on the staff. I recall lashing out at this guy and questioned his maturity...turns out he was not even a teenager yet. In my mind I expected everyone to be around the same age group.
    If he wasn't a teenager yet, under the COPPA act, it would have been illegal for him to register for this website.

  3. #27
    Otaku Frisbee Throwing Champion, Yeti 1 Greece Champion Billum256 is off to a good start Billum256's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    Quote Originally Posted by Manga artist View Post
    Mistakes and confission can be forgiving
    I just want to know why was thread moved to some one else's thread?
    now that thread starter is going be mad at me.
    Quote Originally Posted by Legend View Post
    I am assuming you are talking about the Cloverfield movie thread?? It was me who report the post. The reason why it was "moved" or "merged" is to avoid clutter and the fact that there is already a thread on the same topic. In my opinion, it would be unfair to other topics when there are three threads on the same topic. I hope you understand what i'm saying.

    EDIT: I also don't understand why the thread starter would be mad at you.
    Actually I don't mind that they were merged at all. Its better in my opinion that they were. When there are two different threads about the same thing with slight differences it ok to merge them. In fact I belive that its better to keep one thread moderatly active rather than have to threads that are slightly active. So yeah I'm not mad at anybody. You're not at fault Legend for nothing wrong was done, and I'm not going to despise you Manga artist because of this so you should calm down.
    98% of AO members are yaoi or lollicon fans. If you are part of the 2% that are not, copy and paste this into your sig

    Sig By Me
    "We're all sinners in the hands of the loving God"

  4. #28
    Randomly Renny!!! XD Boiler Breakdown Champion, Lotads Lament Champion, Crystal Island Champion, Festive Fallout Champion Renn may be famous one day Renn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Who knows??? O_O
    Posts
    949
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    What do I think about the MOD staff? Well I'm either way. I can see what some of them have to deal with and they have to abide be rules. Although i do get disappointed when a thread i make is closed. The only thread they closed of mine was something from way back then, when i just started here. Forgot the title but i was crest-fallen. From there i just posted but over time the Mod in thread have been kind to me and i have no harsh words from them(but sometimes i tend to get a post deleted but i don't care)

    'This world is trash. Cursed by the Fon Master...'

  5. #29
    You's Trollin Pro Leafblower Champion, Helicopter Champion ketaro is making a name for themselves ketaro is making a name for themselves ketaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,293
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    Lulz, some of you guys are being delusional or emo upon the AO staff. The MODs can be jackasses sometimes, but they can be cool too. They are just doing what they get paid for, to control the flow of intellect and stupidity.

    ps; Their payment is lulz by the way ^^

  6. #30
    My Entity Is Unknown anime_being_god is making a name for themselves anime_being_god is making a name for themselves anime_being_god's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    near you
    Posts
    1,875
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    I dont care much about the MODS here to you the truth, they sometimes DO seem stuck up, a lot of times act like they're better than everyone else on the site. But they have their ways of things i guess, im just saying their should be some kind of vote that involves ALL of AO to decide who should be a MOD or not, instead of this communisim stuff.lol

    Well now im expecting one of the MODS or a loyal memeber that really likes the mods to defend them here in a bit........lol

    1st Sig finished 12-20-09

  7. #31
    Banned Manga artist may be famous one day Manga artist may be famous one day Manga artist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Studio Motoko
    Posts
    906
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    Ok That's it !one you mods just now locked or moved my new thread
    called the bush nightmare,
    And I want this to stop now, AGAIN YOU LEAP BEFORE YOU READ
    Unless you mods love president bush,
    now stop locking my threads and stop moving them
    I try to nice to you but you just keep on bothering very interesting threads of mine.
    NOW STOP THIS CRAZY THREAD TAMPERING NOW!
    It won't be long before menbers will get tired of this and not post at all here.
    once agian read before you leap...
    Duties of a mod
    to watch for any henti and swearb words sexual words and sexual harrasment threads
    and any kind discrimating remarks about a menbers
    Last edited by Manga artist; Jan 22, 2008 at 10:54 AM.

  8. #32
    new piks in mem gallery animechick may be famous one day animechick may be famous one day animechick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    813
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Your Opinions on the MOD staff here?

    alright so everyone has a thread they think shouldnt have been delted but when it comes down to it they do it right and by the rules

    ei i just posted a thread about sexism and they moved it to trhe debate forum instead of cyber lounge. they took care of the problem without being harsh
    im really doin this!! start making money today! <a href="http://www.fusioncash.net/?ref=ke101544"><img src="http://www.fusioncash.net/sig.php/0e40e75b752dx3.png" alt="Free Money at FusionCash!" title="Free Money at FusionCash!" border="0"></a>

Closed Thread
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HELP!!! i need an some opinions
    By NarutoCheriki in forum Tech Center
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Dec 06, 2006, 04:48 AM
  2. Opinions please
    By Cudwieser in forum Anime
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jun 09, 2006, 01:36 AM
  3. Opinions
    By RazorKisses in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Dec 07, 2005, 09:30 AM
  4. please give your opinions
    By TZi BJC2 in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Dec 25, 2004, 02:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts