+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 9

Thread: District 9 reaction time + a review

  1. #1
    of the AMC Innerhell may be famous one day Innerhell may be famous one day Innerhell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    2,172
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts

    District 9 reaction time + a review

    I just saw District 9 and I must say that it is perhaps the greatest sci-fi movie that has been released as of yet. I like to think of it as the R-rated E.T. of the 21st Century, if that makes any sense. The violence and gore was amazing. The story was great. The character development and the plot was wonderful. The only flaws that I could think of was that there sure were a lot of douchebag characters and according to my girlfriend, the movie seemed a little too drawn out. The main character was very antihero-ish and was very humanly selfish but overall a great representative of the everyman career-hungry desk jockey loser who is suddenly forced into a horrible situation. Think Gordon Freeman minus the smarts and plus the douchebaggery. Speaking of Gordon Freeman, I definitely got a Half-Life 2 feel from this movie and I'm sure those who have seen the movie will know why.

     click to show spoiler


    Anyway, the movie was a great late-night ride. It currently has a 93% freshness rating on Rotten Tomatoes. I came in expecting not that much, but came out wonderfully satisfied.

    Discuss.
    I love my girlfriend.

  2. #2
    Railgun Assimilate Champion Sazuka may be famous one day Sazuka may be famous one day Sazuka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Cair Paravel
    Posts
    796
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

    Re: District 9 reaction time + a review

    Yeah, this movie looks pretty good, possibly the best looking flick of this summer(holding my breathe for Inglorious Bastards).

  3. #3
    I'm all ears. Hassun has disabled reputation
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pretiacruento
    Posts
    7,700
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 124 Times in 108 Posts

    Re: District 9 reaction time + a review

    I'll be catching it when it's released out here, hopefully somewhere at the end of 2009.

  4. #4
    Cherubic Flash Pegs Champion, Chaos Theory Champion, Booya Champion, Word Up Champion, Angel Differences Champion mystical shadow angel may be famous one day mystical shadow angel may be famous one day mystical shadow angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts

    Re: District 9 reaction time + a review

    I wasn't planning on watching this sci-fi after the disastrous one with Keanu Reeves in it. What's it called again? It was so bad that I don't even remember the name, something about the earth standing still, though arguably I only wanted to watch it because of Keanu Reeves. After reading your enthusiastic review though, I think I'll see this one. Not too excited about the gore though, so I'll skip the popcorn or something.

  5. #5
    Newbie Maku is off to a good start Maku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    A small boring place called Hinesville.
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: District 9 reaction time + a review

    I didn't really know anything about District 9 but my friend asked me to go with her and that her boyfriend said it was an awesome movie so we went. For awhile it was payback for dragging her to see Quarantine. (I couldn't stand the gore for awhile.) There is a good amount of gore...but the action makes up for it and was just awesome... But yeah you will find a good reason to laugh at the saying 'when pigs fly.'
    Because nothing can ever be PERFECT
    Something is always WRONG
    And sometimes...
    I cannot help but Smile...

  6. #6
    Newbie AngelOfDarkness21 is off to a good start AngelOfDarkness21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    somewhere between heaven and hell
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: District 9 reaction time + a review

    I seen this movie the other night, and ill have to admit that it was nothing like I seen from the trailer. I really didnt think that it was going to be like sci-fi/documentary/action film. Over all I really liked the movie, I like a movie thats not afraid to show gore. I find that this movie also perfectly depected how the human race would really act if something like what happened in D9. Found while watching the movie that it was just like being racist towards another culture, which kinda sadned me to the point that the world was still like that. I know thats me thinking of a perfect world but I guess I was just one of those people that was raised to treat everyone equally. And then the testing, Oh man that almost made me sick to my stomach that people could put another person through so much pain. Hope that didnt give too much away.

    But over all i enjoyed the movie, I kinda hope that there will be a good sequal.

    AoD

  7. #7
    is On Point Abu Dhabi is making a name for themselves Abu Dhabi is making a name for themselves Abu Dhabi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mr. Foxie's Den...
    Posts
    1,695
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts

    Re: District 9 reaction time + a review

    ( ^_^)

     click to show spoiler


    it is indeed a very good movie, and can definitely be enjoyed by all types of people. It's a very real-world, "okay, what would happen if aliens actually did come to Earth? No, no what if they real did? No, i mean it! What if they did?"

    oh, and all the cuts from film-looking footage, to surveillance-type footage, to news-type footage was really top notch! stuff looks REAL, you know?

  8. #8
    Poultry Projectile Cannon Scourge is making a name for themselves Scourge is making a name for themselves Scourge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Oceanside CA
    Posts
    1,297
    Thanks
    476
    Thanked 171 Times in 152 Posts

    Re: District 9 reaction time + a review

    I saw D9 over the weekend on Saterday with friends. It was an awesome movie, it was in my opinion really origenel for the over all story line as I was not expecting that at all to go down like that. I felt really bad for the aliens living in the geto and such... Come to think of it, I don't think they ever said what their REAL speciese name was, or I have just forgoten because I was just blown away by the whole thing.

    I know the over all story is about racisom and predgedice and taking advantage of others quite literaly different from your self to the exstream, but I feel there was also an underlining message in the movie of "Walk a mile in anothers persons shoes" sort of thing. If you have not seen it I will not give away what I mean by that. I loved the ending though, it really put a smile on my face.
    "MY DEAR... I GIVE YOU THE CAPELLAN CONFEDERATION"
    AND THUS THE WAR WAS STARTED NOT BY GUN SHOT BUT BY WEDDING BELLS

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. JOKE TIME -- it's time to make ourselves laugh
    By crimson in forum Cyber Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Jan 09, 2009, 08:04 AM
  2. Test your reaction time
    By Violent in forum Cyber Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Oct 23, 2006, 01:02 PM
  3. your reaction to love
    By anime_8000 in forum Cyber Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Oct 09, 2006, 05:43 PM
  4. what should ones reaction be to losing a father or mother be?
    By Avatar theif#1 in forum Debate and Discuss
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 03, 2006, 08:17 AM
  5. Abenobashi: Magical Shopping Arcade/ District
    By mamimi_rue in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: Apr 13, 2005, 06:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts