+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 17 to 23 of 23

Thread: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

  1. #17
    Otaku Hantei16 is off to a good start Hantei16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

    Trust them? yeah why shouldn't i? They are professionals making a living out of giving opinions.

    I think this isn't about trusting them, it's about agreeing with them or not. Sometimes, i agree with the reviews and sometimes not. I pick games by personal taste and not because somebody gave it a 10.

    Reviews are one of the biggest factors why there are TONS of great games unknown by the mainstream crowd. *sigh*

  2. #18
    The Joker Reincarnate Curveball Champion Jokerman may be famous one day Jokerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 78 Times in 75 Posts

    Re: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

    Not after 30 seconds did I hate the gaming media as i do now. they gave FF7 Crisis Core a 7.25 on Gameinformer! That game at least, AT LEAST deserved an 8.5, the graphics are outstanding, gameplay is great, the story is FF& so it IS the best storyline you can find, and they give it 7.25? WTF is that!?

    I believe…whatever doesn't kill you simply makes you…stranger.
    Jokerman's Twitter Page: www.twitter.com/JokermanUno
    Thanx Shin Ryuga!!!!

  3. #19
    ~Counting Down the Days~ NevesElocin may be famous one day NevesElocin may be famous one day NevesElocin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    862
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts

    Re: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

    Its all depends on what site it is. Some I'll go this is crap and move on. But others I will truly read through and take things from it. But for the most part I look into a game myself before consulting a review board.

    Our love will go on until the end of time. I will always be yours and you will be mine.

  4. #20
    Banned aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Coalhurst Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,900
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 183 Times in 148 Posts

    Re: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

    Quote Originally Posted by Luminous View Post
    This is one of a few areas where one has to wonder how objective these reviewers are.
    The person who was fired for giving that review was actually objective in his review. He/she was hired to give their opinions on a product, which he/she did, and was fired for it. It was the Website's owners and the client who were questionable in this case.

  5. #21
    Legendary Otaku Snake Champion, Zelda Champion, Crazy Koala Champion, Minigolf Champion, Concentrate Champion, Guess 5 Champion, Batting Champ Champion, Beach Ball Control Champion, Bookworm Champion, Wacky Word Wiz Champion, Fight Fight 3 Champion, Spinner's Luck Champion, Traffic Jam Champion, Yeti Pengu Throw Champion Legend is making a name for themselves Legend is making a name for themselves Legend is making a name for themselves Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sharks Territory
    Posts
    4,762
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 67 Times in 61 Posts

    Re: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

    Quote Originally Posted by aceman67 View Post
    The person who was fired for giving that review was actually objective in his review. He/she was hired to give their opinions on a product, which he/she did, and was fired for it. It was the Website's owners and the client who were questionable in this case.
    I actually have to challenge you on that. I saw parts of that video review and I got to agree with the very few who were saying that this guy seem to have laid more crap on the game than deserved. It was as if he's acting like an angry ex.

    At the same time that was the same incident that makes me look at every review out there and twice. I no longer look at the good points (only the bad ones), and I read enough reviews to know how magazines do (example: play magazine tends to be overly nice to games). As of right now I have another forum with a group of people who are very hardcore gamers, so I usually read what they have to say. Those folks have rarely disappoint when I choose to buy the games they say are good.

    'Cause you give me something / That makes me scared, alright / This could be nothing / But I'm willing to give it a try / Please give me something
    'Cause someday I might call you from my heart

  6. #22
    Banned aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67 has become well known aceman67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Coalhurst Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,900
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 183 Times in 148 Posts

    Re: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

    For me when I buy games, I look at how fast it winds back at EB used and how much it goes for used.

    I just got Crackdown for 20 bucks used, yet Ace Combat 6 is going for almost 40-50 used.

  7. #23
    Otaku Redragon495 is off to a good start Redragon495's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rincon GA USA
    Posts
    148
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Do you trust the gaming media for reviews?

    I personally read reviews to know what game I would get, but if the prices go down on games that got bad reviews then I'll buy them. Some time game with bad reviews are actually good games such as bullet witch.
    I sEe YoU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Trust
    By fireandice in forum Poems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Nov 13, 2007, 10:44 PM
  2. Trust and believe
    By atomik_sprout in forum Poems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Nov 07, 2007, 09:35 AM
  3. trust
    By bratling in forum Poems
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: Jun 11, 2007, 10:19 AM
  4. trust
    By sangogirl in forum Poems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Feb 23, 2007, 04:16 PM
  5. Trust
    By HolderOfTheDarkChalice in forum Poems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Sep 16, 2006, 02:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts