+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The Poughkeepsie Tapes...WTF?

Devoted Otaku Spike'sRose may be famous one day Spike'sRose may be famous one day Spike'sRose's Avatar
    Thanks

The Poughkeepsie Tapes...WTF?

Okay - I saw previews for this a few months ago...
    It's a faux-documentary about a serial killer that haunts Poughkeepsie, New York... And they found over 800 tapes of him torturing/mudering women...

What do you think about this?

I mean, horror movies are gorey, violent... They are made to scare you.
    But since so many horror films have been taking it up a notch... This seemed like the only way to reach people's real scare-O-Meter.

I saw the trailers... I saw some clips...

And trust me, it takes a lot for a horror movie to scare me!! I'm a part-time special-effects make-up artist... lots of latex and fake blood=zombie! I love this stuff...

But a woman whimpering and begging for her life, in a faux documentary seems wrong... I personally think it's going too far... Perhaps it's because I am a survivor of a violent act, and I can't stand seeing things like this.

Serial killers are scary enough in real life - Why do something this extreme?

anti-semantics Pub Quiz Champion tsurara may be famous one day tsurara may be famous one day tsurara's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: The Poughkeepsie Tapes...WTF?

If people stop paying to go see them, Hollywood will stop making them.

We have no one to blame but ourselves for the increase in exploitative ultraviolence.

I'm sleepy... Jukebox Hero Champion, Word Up Champion, Word Craze Champion gren may be famous one day gren may be famous one day gren's Avatar
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by tsurara View Post
    If people stop paying to go see them, Hollywood will stop making them.