+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Re-reviewing classics

  1. #1
    Veteran False Truth is making a name for themselves False Truth is making a name for themselves False Truth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re-reviewing classics

    Ever since the Wii's Virtual Console and Xbox Live's Arcade came out, multiple reviewers have been re-reviewing classic video games, and giving them much lower scores than the original review. The thing is, the reasons they give for such low scores are questionable because of the standards set in this generation. For example, a review of Kid Icarus(VC) scored a 5.1 on gamespot, because of Graphics and audio being "bland", and difficulty supposedly being a problem. Another example would be Streets of Rage(VC), where they basically rate it low based on the fact that they've played too many beat em up games, and once again, sub par graphics. Not only has this type of re-reviewing been done for games, but it has also been done for classic movies and books as well.

    Is it wrong to go back and review a classic again for the sake of comparing it to this generation? What do you guys think of this?

  2. #2
    I'm all ears. Hassun has disabled reputation
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pretiacruento
    Posts
    7,700
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 124 Times in 108 Posts

    Re: Re-reviewing classics

    It's wrong that they feel the need to review them again. The only thing you should be able to review about those games is how well they ported/converted it.

  3. #3
    ??* Judge and Executioner ??* White Van Man Champion, Home Run Derby Champion, Mahjongg sport Champion, Jewel Champion, The Asteroids Champion koga23 may be famous one day koga23 may be famous one day koga23's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,161
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: Re-reviewing classics

    Reviewing classics is not right,to judge them against todays games of course they gonna look out dated thats why there called classics
    ....Player Killer....
    ??* "There is nothing to fear but F.E.A.R. it self -(F.E.A.R) " ??*

  4. #4
    Moderator Fling The Cow Champion, Abba The Fox Champion deodaclan18 may be famous one day deodaclan18 may be famous one day deodaclan18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,099
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Re-reviewing classics

    I don't see how they can call themselves reviewers by comparing the classics to todays standard. Jesus, of course it's gonna have dated graphics when they were made back before the advancement in current gaming technology. Must be a bunch of young kids who nevered played the orignal games when they were first released who only now what it's like nowadays, They have to put themselves back when the games were released and go easy on them. If they really need to review them, they should be reviewing them based on the technology that was available back then, not now.

  5. #5
    Strange Times Dark. is making a name for themselves Dark. is making a name for themselves Dark.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    2,172
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 88 Times in 71 Posts

    Re: Re-reviewing classics

    I don't like the idea of them discrediting games that helped sculpt the industry, but on the flip side, I think I see their reasoning. A majority of us grew up around those games and know their worth, but alot of times when people look at a review for a game, they don't know anything about it. If a kid who has so far grown up around playing say just the last generation's games (gc, PS2, Xbox) the difficulty compared to SNES, Sega, Atari's generation, is enough to turn some people away. Graphics and sound are a priority these days, so gameplay and difficulty sometimes are considered bad points to a game.

    I as a gamer who had the priviledge of experiencing the retro games when they were the top quality, I realize that the reviews are written for the younger generation of gamers. Although I value the opinion of the major game critics, I don't let them decide what is a good or bad game. I decide.

  6. #6
    Veteran False Truth is making a name for themselves False Truth is making a name for themselves False Truth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Re-reviewing classics

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark. View Post
    Although I value the opinion of the major game critics, I don't let them decide what is a good or bad game. I decide.
    There's alot of truth to this statement which many people hold, and I agree with it. The only thing is I do depend on reviews to tell me if a game is worth playing or not to a certain extent. If I completely disregarded reviews I would end up with a lot of bad games(as I have before) that I wasted my money on. I just think that reviews should not contain scores, as it's very hard to summarize multiple pros and cons about a game into a single, valid score.

    Quote Originally Posted by deodaclan18
    I don't see how they can call themselves reviewers by comparing the classics to todays standard. Jesus, of course it's gonna have dated graphics when they were made back before the advancement in current gaming technology.
    Some reviewers find it easy because some(if not most) of our hand held games in this generation still feature 2d graphics and features, which are comparable to old school games.

    Another thing I find hard for reviewers to do is to rate a remake. Nintendo is highly known for its remakes of past games, whether Mario, Metroid, or others. Because the game is a remake, they tend to compare the classic title with the remade title a lot, which I think is the wrong thing to do. It should be rated as a stand alone title, so more honest reviews can be made.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Ufc Classics 6!!
    By Baby Tuffle in forum Sensory Pleasures
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Sep 27, 2006, 04:29 PM
  2. Literary Classics - Set in Japan
    By Sazuka in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Sep 02, 2005, 09:01 PM
  3. Cyberpunk Classics
    By Brother in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Aug 19, 2005, 07:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts