+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

  1. #1
    Otaku kurapika is off to a good start kurapika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    ive been thinking to making this thread but I never had time to it is
    What is the greatest storyline in your opinion, So long story short lets get into it

    Mine would be Fullmetall alchemist
    Im just interested in alchemists and fantasy
    Also the storyline stumped me when they try to ressurect her
    but ed loses an arm and al loses his physical body

    great sig by Lasura thanks heaps

  2. #2
    Otaku Bike Stunts Champion Shonen may be famous one day Shonen may be famous one day Shonen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Like you really care...
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    I might actually agree with you on this, kurapika. FMA truly has a deep and well-built story behind it. The characters have depth to them and the story flows fluently. What's not to like

    [Sig-Team Member] [My Profile] [My Gallery]
    *Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of Law*

  3. #3
    anti-semantics Pub Quiz Champion tsurara may be famous one day tsurara may be famous one day tsurara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Shikoku
    Posts
    1,308
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 84 Times in 55 Posts

    Re: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    Storyline?

    Anime has a lot of flash, bang, distractions and interesting characters but as far as overall ~stories~ go... series' tend to be pretty drawn-out and, in the end, confusing or pointless weaksauce.

    I can't think of any that stand out against the better novels I've read except for BERSERK. BERSERK loses its way here and there, but the structure is solid, the story has legs and you never get the feeling that the author is writing blind. He knows where it's going and every revelation and character introduction takes you one step further toward that conclusion. The anime adaptation is short, but loyal... so it wins by default.

    I've read plenty of stellar manga... but a good storyline isn't what gets a show made: the ability to spin off a huge toy line, tie-in porno games and sell a liscence to other countries is.

    Movies... "The Foxes of Chirnapp" always gets me (based on a pitifully sad children's book). "Laputa: Castle in the Sky" is extremely quality storytelling. "Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi" and "Mononoke Hime" are both quite good for original stories. And everything by Satoshi Kon is worthy of note.

    TV series... I've seen plenty I've liked a lot... but usually it's a combination of characters I love, interesting worlds, fluid animation, decent writing and amazing soundtracks that make them noteworthy: not their overriding stories (which are usually played out, cliche, silly and/or ridiculously confusing)

  4. #4
    Otaku Hantei16 is off to a good start Hantei16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    I could mention a lot of great(include it with an "est") anime storylines here but to cut it short an organized i will only pick one.

    Yakitate Japan!...I believe the story is unique, informative, and well thought. It is about breadmaking, and a whole lot of crazy stuff. There are lots of anime that are food-based in terms of storyline, every one of those shows are unique but yakitate is the best in my opinion. It was informative through the facts that it often exaggerated. As you watch it you will see that the show provides huge amounts of information through breadmaking, history, arts, etc...You're most likely to get the idea that most of the breadmaking facts are being exaggerated, but that's still a good thing coz the show gives you the idea that it is still a fact, just exaggerated for some purposes. Why was it well thought? Because it was unique and informative like what i've said earlier..Its uniqueness and informativeness created a solid connection that complimented each other, well thought indeed...

    I wouldn't say that the story is polished to perfection, like most anime that exceeds 20 episodes it gets lost at some points but only to a minimal note.

  5. #5
    Golden Crypt Lord James Bunny Champion, Leaf Bouncer Champion, Flying Pengus Champion, Jungle Jumble Champion, Hungry Hippaul Champion LichGRIFFIN may be famous one day LichGRIFFIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Realm of Dark Illusions
    Posts
    1,372
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts

    Re: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    Full Metal Alchemist and The Vision of Escaflowne ... since both are charcters journies animes so both got my choice because both got deep stories and a bit complexed ... that's me anyway ...
    Life and Death are always one and the same
    EVEN IF A RAINBOW IS BROKEN THERE'S STILL THE SKY

  6. #6
    Devoted Otaku Spike'sRose may be famous one day Spike'sRose may be famous one day Spike'sRose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Small Town, WA
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    This is a hard one... There are so many that I really love or could relate to in some way.

    I think as far as movies go, I agree with Mononoke Hime. The world it's set in is slightly real, but so full of fantasy it takes you away to another plane... And the music is gorgeous... As is the animation.

    For series... It's hard for me to pick just one. And honestly, there isn't just one that's the greatest.

    But one stood out to me recently, and that's Gurren Lagann. The characters are amazing, the animation of course is great (except for episode 4 lol!!!) and the story kept me hooked... Thank you Gainax. ^_^

  7. #7
    Otaku Celebrity Fight Club Champion itachigirl is off to a good start
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    i could tell you, but id have to kill you
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    i dont truthfully think there is one that is the best. there may be one for each genre, and i think it would go like this:
    weird, goth awesome:
    deathnote:
    because it's weird, goth and awesome
    fighting:
    DBZ, naruto, bleach:
    because it's action packed, and cool
    i mean.. this could go on forever..

  8. #8
    Newbie Mortacxo is off to a good start Mortacxo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: greatest Anime story line in your opinion ( must explain why)

    I'd say Shakugan no Shara season1. (havent seen season 2 yet) This World totally unknown to the ordinary people except for chosen souls called mistes and the so called Flame Hazes. Flame Hazes fight to keep peace and the balance to the world steady, meanwhile evil souls tries constantly to corrupt and destroy it for their own goals. The plot interests me the most since its a twist of Love and Heavy action. The characters are a little unordinary in several aspects and at the same time keeping a "normal compesture" towards the red thread through season 1, these specific characters makes the plot more funny and gives spice to the otherwise dark storyline.

    So my votes for Shakugan no Shana

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Greatest Love Story Never Told (Part 1)
    By solking in forum Poems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jan 17, 2007, 08:45 PM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: Mar 10, 2006, 01:27 PM
  3. What's the WORST anime ever, in your opinion?
    By AniManga Hound in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Feb 27, 2006, 06:40 PM
  4. Does anyone know any good Anime on-line stores
    By The Truth in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Dec 15, 2005, 01:55 PM
  5. The most corny line you ever heard from an anime!
    By Shien in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Jan 07, 2005, 10:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts