+ Reply to Thread

Thread: musical cliche in cyberpunk anime? (can you help me?)

Newbie breezy89 is off to a good start
    Thanks

musical cliche in cyberpunk anime? (can you help me?)

hi everyone my name is iain i'm a music student and i'm doing a dissertation all about the music in cyberpunk anime. i was hoping i could put out a few questions and you all could have a a good chat about them the answers don't have to be super academic or anything like that and please feel free to talk about any aspect of the topic that comes to mind, just as if i had just raised the questions in casual conversation. please answer/discuss any or all the questions that you feel like. so anyway the questions are:

what do you feel are the musical cliches within cyberpunk anime?

how do you feel the music in cyberpunk anime contrasts with other examples of the cyberpunk genre from outside of japan?

have you noticed a greater contrast in the music of japanese cyberpunk anime and the music in cyberpunk in the rest of the world when the production values of the projects are higher?

thanks everyone!

Grouchy Old Anime Otaku LenMiyata has become well known LenMiyata has become well known LenMiyata has become well known LenMiyata's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: musical cliche in cyberpunk anime? (can you help me?)

Grumble Grumble Grumble

Now are you really being specific enough with the topic at hand??? In Anime, Cyberpunk is itself divided into to major sub-genre... You have 'Action' Cyberpunk series, (with the definitive example being 'Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex'...) and you have 'Hardcore' Cyberpunk. (with the definitive example being 'Serial Experiment Lain'...) Action Cyberpunk has more action/combat background music, while hardcore Cyberpunk, (with a greater emphasis on what is the meaning of experience) has more of a trend for spookier music...
    FAVOURITE THREADS EXPLAIN why, or risk an infraction.
    Rantings of a Grouchy Old Anime Otaku

Thanks

thnx for the reply