Closed Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 25 to 32 of 37

Thread: Your opinion on Yaoi

  1. #25
    Newbie Touko Ryogi is off to a good start Touko Ryogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Georgia, US
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    Yaoi, huh...

    I don't see the appeal. I've gone through some Yaoi manga and doujins at the insistence of some fangirls, whose fanaticism borderlines psychopath-ism and I have never seen the appeal of these "works." The stories are almost always overly dramatic, the archtype of guys aren't even as interesting in your usual archtype girls (Where's the Yaoi equivalent of Yandere?) in anime directed towards men. Oh and some of the times the characters just flat out look like girls anyway so what's the point? (Boku no Pico, I'm looking at you!)

    It's not like I'm homophobic or anything like that, it's just that everything is so stock in this "genre" if you can call it that. There's nothing appealing about it at all to me and it feels like if you've seen one, then that's all you need to see. There's nothing else that any of them can offer you. Pick another, more interesting fetish and move on to that, you'll be amused for a longer period of time than with Yaoi.

  2. #26
    Newbie coochachu is off to a good start coochachu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    YAOI @@ We group it as BL nowadays... I think YAOI means BL with a pure H? I'm sorry but BL is practically my LIFE now XD"" In my opinion fangirls like it a bit more intimate... so most of them don't prefer pure H. They like focusing on the relationship between the characters more than the "action".

  3. #27
    Newbie fallen angel 2009 is off to a good start fallen angel 2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    c-town
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    i luv yaoi!! it gets entertaining and ive been reading it since my freshmen year in highschool!! Yaoi Rules!!
    I will love you without fear or restrictions. I will trust you without wondering. I will want you without demand and accept you just the way you are. And If you give me the chance, if you give us a chance, I will spend the rest of my life proving to you that you made the right decision. <3 Sayoko

  4. #28
    Otaku Arukih may be famous one day Arukih may be famous one day Arukih's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    I do enjoy Yaoi but not all them!! I like love story but with sense!!

  5. #29
    Wilde Beast GiG Racer Champion EmoNightmareRose may be famous one day EmoNightmareRose's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohtori Academy
    Posts
    693
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 51 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    i am a 14 yr old guy..and i like yaoi..im not gay.. but here's the thing...just like shoujo i can appreciate good stories when i see them, even if they are yuri, yaoi, shoujo or shonen. i will always a story that is great, not matter what anyone says..

  6. #30
    of the AMC Innerhell may be famous one day Innerhell may be famous one day Innerhell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    2,172
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    Quote Originally Posted by EmoNightmareRose View Post
    i am a 14 yr old guy..and i like yaoi..im not gay.. but here's the thing...just like shoujo i can appreciate good stories when i see them, even if they are yuri, yaoi, shoujo or shonen. i will always a story that is great, not matter what anyone says..
    Problem.

    Yaoi isn't supposed to have a story. What you're reading is most likely not Yaoi. Yaoi is primarily focused on sex. No story; just sex. Yaoi is the equivalent to a trashy romance novel. Shallow plotline that is only made convenient so that it can lead to the action.

    What you probably like is BL or June.

    BL or Boy's Love is where relationships and plot are put into more focus. There is no sex; just slight fanservice like cuddling and kissing.

    June [pronounced <joo-nay>] is a combination of Yaoi and BL.

    Shonen-Ai is an outdated term from the 80's that now means "real life pedophilia". Back in the day, it served as it's own standalone genre that was the archetype of Shotacon and BL. There was more plot, but there was more sex between that of an adult male and a prepubescent little boy. It was a unique genre that was popularized by it's creators, but with the sudden decline of this genre, it was soon replaced by that of the more mild and more modern, BL. Japan then gave Shonen-Ai a new definition and made the decision for it to mean "real life pedophilia". This is why fangirls and weeaboo should never go to Japan and exclaim that they like Shonen-Ai or Yaoi because everyone will simply give you weird awkward stares and glances.

    Shojo with homoerotic undertones focuses on a more standard plot rather than being focused on relationships. Examples of these are Loveless and the original Gravitation.

    American publishing companies have been known to mislead consumers by mislabeling titles with "YAOI!", "BL!" and "JUNE!" labels. Most of the time, these aren't true. Do not be fooled.

    THE MORE YOU KNOW.
    I love my girlfriend.

  7. #31
    Mathematical!! Bugz Champion, Ant Bully Champion, Chainsaw the childern Champion, 3D Net Blazer Champion, Cricket Challenge Champion, Big Uglies Champion, Body Check Champion, Desktop Fishing Champion, All Star Skate Park Champion, Chuckie Egg Champion, Birdy Champion, Anthrax Jelly Champion, Air Typer Champion, Word Pads Champion, Crash Test Dummy Curling Champion, The Mini Jump Game Champion, Chairlift Challenge Champion, Astroboy vs One Bad Storm Champion, Fight Man Champion, Blot In Hell Champion, Beeku Adventure Champion, Connect2 Champion, Atomica Champion, Cannonball Follies 2 Champion, Bada Boing Champion, BeachDefence Champion, Alkie Kong 2 Champion atomik_sprout has become well known atomik_sprout has become well known atomik_sprout has become well known atomik_sprout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,643
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 166 Times in 141 Posts

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    Quote Originally Posted by Hassun View Post
    Just like any other porn. Only the homosexual variant. It doesn't really appeal to me but then again, neither does multiple eel penetration.

    To each his/her own I guess...
    Agreed, it's no different from straigh porn or yuri manga/anime. I'm not a big fan of yaoi and much like Hassun, it appeals to me as much as shoving a cactus in my pee-hole.


  8. #32
    Newbie Kuinta is off to a good start
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    somewhere peaceful
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Your opinion on Yaoi

    I don't have anything against homosexuality, but I'm definitely not into it. Since I'm a guy who is into girls, it's kind of a turn off for me. I have friends I know who are gay, but I don't always agree with them when it comes to some things. I mean if there's people who like shounen-ai, that's their business and I'm okay with that. Just don't try asking me for any yaoi recommendations.

Closed Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Yaoi -why?-
    By The White Wolf in forum Anime
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: Feb 27, 2007, 07:54 AM
  2. Yaoi?
    By ::InuKitty666:: in forum Manga General Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jan 24, 2007, 05:16 PM
  3. Yaoi
    By -[+ Ash +]- in forum Anime
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Jul 29, 2006, 12:41 PM
  4. Need yaoi
    By Hanabishi-sama in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Feb 10, 2005, 11:06 AM
  5. My opinion on everyone(not everyone) who has wrote an opinion.
    By Miyu@animeonline in forum The Thread Vault
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Nov 20, 2004, 07:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts