Anno Hideaki, Tsurumaki Kazuya Neon Genesis Evangelion

Facts
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 8098 11/6/2009
 
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.4
In the year 2015, half of the human race is dead, and the survivors face extinction at the hands of giant biotechnology experiments called Angels.

Within the headquarters of the secretive organization called NERV, a special United Nations agency located in Tokyo-3, a handful of teenagers are trained to pilot the colossal super-entities known as Evangelions and battle the Angels on their own terms... whatever the cost to their minds and souls.

Shinji Ikari, whose father heads the NERV team that developed and maintains the Evangelions, is thrust into a maelstrom of battles and events that he does not understand. He is forced to plumb the depths of himself for the courage and strength to not only fight, but to survive.

Evangelion is one of the classic anime series. It's full of action and some comedy. Really nice starter anime if you are wanting to get into the anime Genre.
Keywords: Neon Genesis Evangelion
Sound & Graphics Excellent
Entertainment Value Excellent
Replay Value Excellent
Plot Excellent
Genre Action, Drama, Mecha, Science-Fiction
Episodes 26 (if platnum Edition 30 eps DC Edition of eps 21- 24)
Studio Gainax
nge1.jpg
nge1.jpg
supersize
nge2.jpg
supersize
nge3.jpg
supersize
nge4.jpg
supersize
neg5.jpg
supersize
nge6.jpg
supersize

Poster

Sinistra
Legendary Otaku
Posts:
2,528
Join Date:
October 2004
Location:
Radford VA
  1. 9/11/2006 8:37pm

    1. Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 8
      Pros: it's a classic
      Cons: The drama is prety slow and confusing
      Really a good animated series with a lot of complex ideas and points of views.
      It has action, drama, romance and all of that but in a twisted way.

      I didn't like the end of this series.
         
  1. 10/11/2006 12:17pm
    1. aceman67
      Banned

      Join Date:
      November 2004
      Location:
      Coalhurst Alberta, Canada
      Posts:
      2900
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 9
      Pros: It's a classic, the story line is deep and thought provoking. There's a reason its still popular even over 10 years later.
      Cons: Shinji is a whiner, and is extremely annoying. You will want to slap him several times through out the series.
      This was the first anime I cut my teeth on (meaning the first anime I watched from start to finish).

      I got my first taste of Evangelion from an Anime Music Video, but for the life of me, I can't think of the name of it, or even the song. Lets just say that it was skillfully done and it got me interested.

      As stated above, the story line is complex and confusing. The movie End of Evangelion still confuses fans to this day, not matter how many times they've watched it.

      This anime loves to toy and play with your perceptions, chew them up, then promptly spit them back out. You come to think that you've got something figured out only to have truth come and slap you in the face. You'll come to like one character only to Loath them later on in the series (Like Dr. Akagi, and in some cases, even Misato).

      I strongly recommend this anime 100%, but even if Sci-Fi isn't your thing. This anime has so many levels to it, that you'll get drawn into it and want to know what happens, then the ending will confuse the hell out of you.

      Keep in mind that this isn't for everyone, its highly controversial and may offend some watchers because of its references to various religious sources (mainly Jewish and Christianity), nor is it for someone who is new to anime. Even though this was my "first" anime, I was 18 when I first saw it, and I had a religious background, so I could get my mind around some points.

      Now, why are you still reading this review, Get watching it! Now!

      ------------------------------


      I think; therefore you are : Xfire : Art Portfolio : DevART : AnimePaper : SheezyART :
         
  1. 15/11/2006 11:32pm
    1. The GunGrave of Trigun
      Banned

      Join Date:
      August 2006
      Location:
      Hell
      Posts:
      1096
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: It will make you laugh
      Cons: -
      What you said was the same with me first anime religious sources everything me to I think its a classic to and what happened in the movies are making me say to myself why did they do that and they are making 4 new movies and they have been making a new show.

      It's a great show full of action and sadness. It will make you laugh. This anime is the best and can't be beaten. If you have not seen this anime, I say you should get it because your missing out.

      ------------------------------


      Anime is a killer Queen
      March in Black Parade
      One o
      Queen o Arcade
         
  1. 7/12/2006 7:34pm
    1. Flclking22
      Newbie

      Join Date:
      October 2006
      Location:
      Hell, Colorado
      Posts:
      88
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 8
      Pros: Very high action, really deep
      Cons: Confusing at some times
      This anime AND manga are one of the best i have ever seen. it really makes it easy to follow if you read the manga THen watch the anime. BUt you can watch the anime and still get it. There is another variation of EVA that will becoming out that is a manga, I would check it out.

      ------------------------------
      "God is in his throne. All is right with the world."
      NERV
      Non mihi, non tila, sed nobis.
      [email protected]
         
  1. 11/6/2009 4:54am
    1. beast
      Banned

      Join Date:
      September 2008
      Location:
      Michigan United States
      Posts:
      1499
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 7
      Pros: Great story line, stunning visual design. Soundtrack is arguably the best in anime.
      Cons: Ending is very bad.
      The world of evangelion is an addictive one filled with the best character development perhaps ever scene in the art of anime. Evangelion set a hard standard to follow but a structure impossible to ignore. Every mecha anime to follow is the offspring of evangelion. And for all this it will never merit anything but a 9. Some of the best script writing leads its men up to the finale of one of the most financially successful anime of all time and falls short. Ending on what is by many peoples opinions a lame not.
         


Powered by: Reviewpost vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.