Kouta Hirano Hellsing Volume 1-7

Facts
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 5243 4/1/2008
 
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.7
The manga itself was first published in 1997. I have to say this now, I originally watched the anime series before reading the manga and I thought that the anime series was seriously stylish but after reading the current manga series, I was blown away.

Alucard, the main "hero" if you like is still stylish if not more than his anime counterpart, Though I've seen the recent OVA series and it definitely matches up to the manga.

As far as I know, there's suppose to be 9 volumes in the series and rumours of a 10th volume but this I'll reserve my opinion till then. Hirano has stated that the Hellsing series should be done in about a year and half.

The art itself is great, the dialogue between the characters during moments where it's suppose to be comedy is actually funny. Especially after the Valentine Brother's attempted attack on the Hellsing Manison where a mercenary group called WildGeese, where Seras the other main female lead character is made fun of. However, the English translation of the manga is its only flaw.

Alexander Anderson, the apparently Scottish member of Section 13, the Iscariot - his dialogue is hard to make out, perhaps this is to hint that he's got a heavy accent but you wont know that he's Scottish till you read it through and look it up on the net.

Right I'm gonna list down the main characters you'll need to note:
  • Alucard
  • Hellsing vampire hitman (literally)
  • Seras Victoria the recently reborned vampire (by Alucard)
  • Intergra current Head of the Hellsing Institution
What are they exactly about? They're an organization in England whose job is to hunt down all freaks or vampires or for that fact anything inhuman.

The Plot

The plot of the manga is just great because it leads in smoothly into a situation where it's more sinister. The villain's side is nicely put together, three notable characters who are said to have encountered Hellsing before. I wont say for the spoiler's sake who.

Great Art

For those who have seen the trailers for the OVA series and the two OVAs themselves, you'll know that the manga is well worth buying for the OVA itself due to it's great art.

This is one of the shorter manga series that is well worth buying and collecting as well. Even though not all the volumes are out, it should be well worth the wait to get all of them.
Keywords: Hellsing Manga
Illustrations and Layout Excellent
Entertainment Value Excellent
Replay Value Excellent
Plot Excellent
Genre Historical, Horror, Action, Supernatural
Volumes 8
Hellsing_manga.jpg
Hellsing_manga.jpg
supersize
Hellsing1.gif
supersize
hellsing2.jpg
supersize
Hellsing3.jpg
supersize
hellsing4.jpg
supersize
hellsing-manga.jpg
supersize

Poster

Blade X
AO's Demon Slayer
Posts:
1,601
Join Date:
July 2005
Location:
Protecting my loved one.
  1. 8/11/2006 11:05am
    1. ketaro
      You's Trollin

      Join Date:
      April 2005
      Posts:
      4293
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Kool details
      Cons: I have nothing to say about that.
      I have to get the manga, i wasn't pleased with the anime show. Nice review by the way.
         
  1. 13/11/2006 1:37pm
    1. divine_punishment
      Legendary Otaku

      Join Date:
      April 2006
      Location:
      Good question . . . where am I?
      Posts:
      1170
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 8
      Pros: Highly action-packed
      Cons: VERY anti-Catholic
      Has anyone noticed that Alucard is "Dracula" backwards? Ah, well. I quite enjoyed it, but found that I couldn't support it entirely as I am, well, an Irish Catholic. **shrug** It's a wicked good read, though.

      ------------------------------
         
  1. 15/11/2006 7:41am
    1. Ladydeath-strike
      Newbie

      Join Date:
      November 2006
      Location:
      Denmark
      Posts:
      1
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Speed action and nice bloody
      Cons:
      This is a very very cool manga with bloody action and a good background-historie i really love it
         
  1. 24/1/2007 2:35am
    1. Haku-chan
      Newbie

      Join Date:
      January 2007
      Location:
      Kirigakure
      Posts:
      26
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: characters, plot, gore
      Cons: n/a
      I loved the bloody action and the sick humor. The characters also are very great. My favorites being Rip Van and Schrodinger

      ------------------------------
      Do you like Ouran High School Host club? Check out my RP message board at:

      ohshc07.proboards80.com
         
  1. 10/2/2007 7:42pm
    1. Lardo
      Otaku

      Join Date:
      February 2007
      Location:
      Under Your Bed!
      Posts:
      127
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Amazing action, cool charcters, vampires and Nazis!
      Cons: Isn't translated fast enough
      I also watched the Anime before I read the Manga and the differance is HUGE! It has everything an Action/Horror Manga should have: Un-restricted bloody action, Big weapons, Vampires, Anti-hero main character, Big boobs , Vampires, Nazi villians and a Sword crazed Scotsman. What more could you want? (Apart from Vol.8 translation...)

      Did I mention Vampires

      ------------------------------
      A man may fight for many things: his country, his priciples, his freinds. But personally, I'd mud-wrestle my own mother for a Ton of cash, an amusing clock and a stack of french porn!
         
  1. 4/1/2008 10:28pm
    1. Muffin
      Otaku

      Join Date:
      January 2008
      Location:
      Catbasket near the fire.
      Posts:
      148
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Great Twist on a Classical idea
      Cons: HUGE gaps between release dates
      Wow! Just wow! This was the first Manga I ever read due to my love of the Classic Vampire and I was not dissapointed.

      It has a great intensity and pace to the story, but still has a depth to it that pulls you in

      ------------------------------
      Baldrick, you wouldn't see a subtle plan if it painted itself purple and danced naked on top of a Harpsichord sining "Subtle plans are here again!"
         


Powered by: Reviewpost vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.