Kou Fumizuki / TokyoPop Ai Yori Aoshi (1-14)

Facts
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 4644 2/4/2007
 
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0
Despite her family's protests, Aoi Sakuraba decides that she is going to marry Kaoru Hanabishi, her love of eighteen years. Once he realizes that her intentions are genuine - and that she's not just trying to get him to reconcile with his estranged (and domineering) family - he begins to definitely warm up to the idea, too. What obstacles must the two overcome in order to be together?

Ai Yori Aoshi began its manga run in Japan in the magazine Young Animal in 1995; Hakusensha originally published it in graphic novel form in 11 volumes. There is also a very popular anime series based on Kou Fumizuki's romantic story of an arranged marriage.

*Taken from TokyoPop.com*
Keywords: Ai Yori Aoshi Romantic Comedy Tokyopop
Illustrations and Layout Excellent
Entertainment Value Very Good
Replay Value Excellent
Plot Very Good
Genre Harem anime, Magical girlfriend, Seinen
Volumes 17
aiyoriaoshivol14.jpg
aiyoriaoshivol14.jpg
supersize
aiyoriaoshivol8.jpg
supersize
aiyoriaoshivol7.jpg
supersize
aiyoriaoshivol6.jpg
supersize
aiyoriaoshivol5.jpg
supersize
aiyoriaoshivol4.jpg
supersize

Poster

aceman67
Banned
Posts:
2,900
Join Date:
November 2004
Location:
Coalhurst Alberta, Canada
  1. 14/11/2006 12:18pm
    1. aceman67
      Banned

      Join Date:
      November 2004
      Location:
      Coalhurst Alberta, Canada
      Posts:
      2900
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 9
      Pros: Storyline more expansive then the anime, more detailed backstories, overall better art. Excellent translations
      Cons: Story moves slowly, some story arcs are corny and don't add to the total story. A sound effect glossery would have been nice.
      To be honest, I picked this manga series on a whim. I had just finished watching the first season of the anime, and I thought "What the hell".

      Now, here I am, 3 years later, waiting very impatiently for the next volume to come out (February 2007 ).

      I know that Tokyopop has a horrid reputation for bastardizing manga, as they should, Chobits was horrible, and the fan translation of Love Hina was of superior quality, but Ai Yori Aoshi, now, here's where Tokyopop finally got it right. The translation is excellent and it remains true to the original story (They don't rename characters like in Chobits I.E. Sumomo getting named Plumb). The first couple volumes have bonus sections at the end that explain various aspects of Japanese culture that are seen in the manga to make the story more understandable, which is pretty good.

      The art work slowly gets better as the story progresses, and is clean and crisp. Backgrounds are very detailed (You even see the prices on food in the supermarket).

      As for the story, its your typical boy and girl have a marriage arranged, boy leaves abusive family, girl spends life preparing her self to marry boy and when she finds out the marriage is called off, goes to find him. Ok, so its not your typical story, but while some aspects of it are corny (And possibly offensive to some women here in North America), still remains tender and sweet with out losing its Funny. It also has some powerful imagery. For example, when Kaoru explains to Aoi why he left the Hanabishi, the scenes of him getting beaten are quite shocking.

      If you're a fan of the series, then you'd LOVE the manga, cause its 10 times better. I HIGHLY recommend it, as it is one of my favorites.

      ------------------------------


      I think; therefore you are : Xfire : Art Portfolio : DevART : AnimePaper : SheezyART :
         
  1. 1/3/2007 3:07am
    1. Sukito
      Newbie

      Join Date:
      January 2007
      Posts:
      1
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 9
      Pros: well written..and drawn
      Cons: ecchi
      i honestly picked this as a random book at my local book store it was the best random book i ever randomly picked ^^
         
  1. 2/4/2007 12:35pm
    1. toonfan630
      Otaku

      Join Date:
      June 2005
      Location:
      PA
      Posts:
      216
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 9
      Pros: It's hilarious and they draw very well.
      Cons: The stories get a boring after a while.
      I hated it the first time around but after I looked at it again, I saw a few things that I found to be interesting. I don't buy it but I look through it when I'm at a book store.

      ------------------------------
      "We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." Oscar Wilde.

      Leave me and my simple sig alone. I like it. ^o^
         


Powered by: Reviewpost vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.