Hayao Miyazaki Howl's Moving Castle

Facts
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 5727 17/9/2007
 
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0
I'll start off by saying it is another anime movie directed by the genius Hayao Miyazaki.

Plot

The story starts off with an average girl named Sophie. She is rescued from some creatures by a handsome wizard, who turns out to be named Howl. The next thing she knows, she has a curse put on her by a witch that makes her look like an old lady. She decides to leave town and eventually enters a moving castle, which belongs to Howl. Sophie becomes part of the family, which includes Howl, a boy, and a demon that takes the form of fire.

Sophie is also involved with trying to get rid of the curse, whilst at the same time she starts to fall in love with Howl. In the end, Sophie tries to rescue Howl from losing touch with his humanity, as she tries to give him back his heart.

The whole story also revolves around a war between nations.

Audio and Visual

The movie is well drawn. The characters look beautiful, and the different settings are great too. From the ocean, the cities and the different creatures were all drawn well and look beautiful.

The audio has been done quite well. My favorite song is the opening, "The Promise of the World". The dubbed voiceovers in English were well done. I know it sounds weird that Christian Bale was the voice of Howl, but it worked out quite well.

Story / Mood

Fantasy and romance play big roles in this anime movie. It mostly revolves around magic, but I liked how the romance between Sophie and Howl was developed. It didn't rush anything.

Final Thoughts

I loved Howl's Moving Castle. I can't really compare it to the novel as I have not yet read it. The story in the anime was amazing, the characters were well developed, and it looked great when it comes to visuals. Nothing fancy, but it was still great.

So, if you like fantasy and magic in anime, then this would be a good one to watch. It is another amazing accomplishment of Miyazaki.

Official site at http://disney.go.com/disneypictures/castle/.
Keywords: wizard magic fire demon witch curse soldiers war
Sound & Graphics Very Good
Entertainment Value Very Good
Replay Value Very Good
Plot Excellent
Genre Adventure, Comedy, Drama, Fantasy, Romance
Starring Christian Bale, Jean Simmons, Emily Mortimer
Howls_Moving_Castle.jpg
Howls_Moving_Castle.jpg
supersize
howls_moving_castle1.jpg
supersize
howls_moving_castle_markl1.jpg
supersize
howls_moving_castle_fire1.jpg
supersize
howls_moving_castle_movie1.jpg
supersize
howls_moving_castle-howl1.jpg
supersize

Poster

deodaclan18
Moderator
Posts:
1,099
Join Date:
October 2006
Location:
Pennsylvania
  1. 9/3/2007 1:16am
    1. Chiefblackhammer
      Commander Ham

      Join Date:
      November 2004
      Location:
      Winston Salem, NC
      Posts:
      1887
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Everything
      Cons: Are you kiddin?
      Darn you and your reviewing skills, lol. No great review of an excellent title! Miyazaki for president!!!

      ------------------------------



         
  1. 18/3/2007 8:16am
    1. Ishamael
      Otaku

      Join Date:
      November 2004
      Location:
      Los Alamos, New Mexico
      Posts:
      264
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Its Miyazaki...
      Cons: As I said its Miyazaki.
      What can I say? Its Miyazaki. In some aspects I think its his best film so far. The whole thing is just amazing. The only problem I can see is that most of the movie can't be taken for face value. I would say that everything this movie is, is what’s being conveyed just beneath the surface. So if you can't grasp it Im sure it seems a little boring and plain. Because of that I came away from the movie with the feeling that it was bland and that nothing really special happened, but even so I loved it and was moved by it. I think this torn feeling just adds to how amazing the movie is.

      ------------------------------
      "Who said I'm pissed?" - Silverskater145
      "That gigantic wall of text you posted did a pretty good job of it." - Raven Omega
         
  1. 21/3/2007 10:29pm
    1. _gwenibe_
      ~jUsT sMiLe~

      Join Date:
      June 2005
      Location:
      In the gallery
      Posts:
      1376
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Hayao Miyazaki! story, art, creatures,settings, everything!
      Cons: -
      Hayao Miyazaki is brilliant!

      Even though Spirited away was fantastic, for me Howl's was even better everything about it is beautiful - I dont know what else to say. It's that good. Any anime lover who has not seen it must have been living under a rock!

      ------------------------------
         
  1. 17/9/2007 9:37pm
    1. nightboyz
      Otaku

      Join Date:
      September 2006
      Location:
      Where sence means nothing...
      Posts:
      310
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Tops to the amount of detail
      Cons: N/A
      [COLOR="MediumTurquoise"]I love how there was never a dull moment during the entire film. I love the amount of detail put in the film and great ideas.[/COLOR]

      ------------------------------


      Kamen Rider....DECADE!!!
         


Powered by: Reviewpost vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.