Zack Snyder 300 (2007)

Facts
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 15160 16/7/2009
 
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.8
Overview

This film is based on the graphic novel by Frank Miller (also creator of Sin City). Based on the legendary battle The Hot Gates (the narrow cliffs of Thermopylae). King Leonidas went against the old laws to protect the freedom of his people. His sacrifice was known to all of Greece, resulting in a united front and Greece stood against the might of the Persian Empire.

Awesome Film

I personally think it's an awesome film. Based on one of the best legendary battles in Greece, Zack Synder has done well to keep it as realistic as possible. The fighting formations and psyche of the soldiers is accurate with the historians. Sparta was of course known to have one of the fiercest armies. Gerard Butler has done a great job as leader of the Spartans and he inspires glory with his followers. At times I felt that he inspired me. The film, though criticized for going with style than substance, has done well. Because anyone could make a film based on a true story but what makes it great is how the story is told. It engrossed me and I'm sure has engrossed many more.

Music

The music used with this movie was inspiring and I think is slightly better than Lord of The Rings (I might get hell for this). The music feels like it fits into the time period, though bearing in mind this is a fantasy of a historical event. Hearing it on the surround sound system will just blow you away. It sounds as good as Lord of The Rings but better.

Replay Value

I can confidently say that I can watch 300 over and over, still I wont get bored of it. The reason is simply because you feel like you wanna get 300 people and do the same. It just lifts and moves the heart. The supporting cast also done well because they don't upstage the main actor.

Seeing everything which was described poetic was brilliant from the thousands of arrows that block out the sun to the march of the Persian army which was said to create earthquakes. The Fearless Spartans really make you feel like you can fight alongside them and be the same. The battle cries made by Leonidas is equal of that to Aragon or Gandalf.

Graphics

Graphically, Snyder has really brought out the big guns for the film. Using blue screens all the way seems to be the next step in film evolution. The visuals in the movie is beyond cool and just really fits into the movie so well. Overall, what made me think it's awesome is the way everything fits in and how the story is told.
Keywords: Persian messengers, Sparta, guards, priests, soldiers
Sound & Graphics Excellent
Entertainment Value Excellent
Replay Value Excellent
Plot Excellent
Genre Historical Fantasy
Starring Gerard Butler, Lena Headney, David Wenham, Dominic West
300_cover.jpg
300_cover.jpg
supersize
300Poster.jpg
supersize
300.jpg
supersize
300_movie.JPG
supersize
Leonidas_and_Xerxes.jpg
supersize
Persian_soldiers.jpg
supersize

Poster

Blade X
AO's Demon Slayer
Posts:
1,601
Join Date:
July 2005
Location:
Protecting my loved one.
  1. 11/4/2007 2:15am
    1. redeyed_impure_soul
      Newbie

      Join Date:
      May 2006
      Location:
      AZ, baby!
      Posts:
      27
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Very engaging film.
      Cons: Eh, no negative aspects actually.
      Yes, I agree with you this movie was a splenderous thing. The graphics were amazing, and the story was told very nicely. SPARTA! Tehee. ^_^

      ------------------------------


         
  1. 30/4/2007 1:49pm
    1. rock on
      Devoted Otaku

      Join Date:
      January 2006
      Location:
      USA nebraska
      Posts:
      530
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: The battle's where great
      Cons: I really didnt like how the blood was
      I would say you should go see tgat movie for almost everthing was great and the rest was really good.

      ------------------------------


      92% of teens moved to rap. I am one of the 8% rebelions
         
  1. 17/9/2007 9:23pm
    1. nightboyz
      Otaku

      Join Date:
      September 2006
      Location:
      Where sence means nothing...
      Posts:
      310
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 10
      Pros: Great visional effects
      Cons: Nothing bad in my thought
      [COLOR="MediumTurquoise"]I found this film to be one of a kind, even though its based off a comic it did its justice to the story.[/COLOR]

      ------------------------------


      Kamen Rider....DECADE!!!
         
  1. 7/2/2008 7:30pm
    1. Mofro
      Newbie

      Join Date:
      December 2007
      Posts:
      32
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 7
      Pros: great visual effects
      Cons: none really
      great over all gore movie

      ------------------------------
      Mofro
         
  1. 15/1/2009 12:22am
    1. lapislazuli
      Otaku

      Join Date:
      January 2009
      Location:
      48 07' 48 19' N 16 11' 16 34' E or short: behind you.
      Posts:
      363
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 7
      Pros:
      Cons:
      [COLOR="Yellow"][SIZE="2"]I really like the overall style of the film, not a film to be watched for an interesting story though. Still, I recommend it to people fond of action films ... [/SIZE][/COLOR]

      ------------------------------
      You are now breathing manually. :P

      E&OE;
         
  1. 16/7/2009 10:21pm
    1. beast
      Banned

      Join Date:
      September 2008
      Location:
      Michigan United States
      Posts:
      1499
      Would you recommend the product? Yes     Price you paid? None indicated     Rating: 9
      Pros: Great action,
      Cons: Surreal digital backlot is over tilized
      This films makes a poingant statement by showing the commraderie that exist among brothers at arms. The powerful statement is that even after several centuries the more things stay the same.
         


Powered by: Reviewpost vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.